Combined Council of Labrador
Combined Councils of Labrador
About the Combined Councils of Labrador
The Combined Councils of Northern Labrador was formed in 1972 when the communities of Nain, Makkovik, Davis Inlet and Hopedale met for an inaugural conference to address issues that were similar in each municipality.Together as a united voice they lobbied government officials for improvements in their region.
In 1979, the Combined Councils of Labrador met in North West River and expanded to include all communities in Labrador, forever changing the face of Labrador politics.

In January of 2007 the Combined Councils of Labrador held its Annual General Meeting in the community of Nain, Nunatsiavut. It was at this meeting (the 35th Annual) the member communities in attendance voted to ammend the Combined Councils of Labrador Constitution to include any incorporated Municipality, Local Service District or permanently recognized community or Aboriginal Community Government and/or First Nations Community (incorporated either by or
under a special or general act of the legislature) may become a member of the Combined Councils of Labrador on payment of the current membership dues. Each Municipal, Community Government Member, or permanently recognized community and/or First Nations Community of the Combined Councils of Labrador shall select its own representative or representatives to participate in the activities of the Combined Councils of Labrador.

From its early beginnings the Combined Councils of Labrador has grown in scope and capacity to acknowledge municipal governance as the vehicle of choice for economic development, community living, social challenges, infrastructure activities and thrives for leadership in advocacy, policy development, research and municipal training.
CCL Constitution 2017
The Constitution of the Combined Councils of Labrador was review and updated in the fall of 2017. At that time minor changes were made to the reading of the document. This coming year the executive will further review it and make necessary changes to reflect the changes to the organization. Copy of CCL Constitution - Adopted Version 2017.doc

2011 Combined Councils of Labrador

3234 Lodge Bay Road
Mary's Harbour, NL, Canada   A0K 3P0

Telephone: (709) 921-6836 - Fax: (709) 921-6835
Toll Free: 1-866-895-8989

This page: 950 visits since January 13, 2019

Webmaster Login